Off to Africa.

So..Some of you know that I (Debbie) am off to Zambia soon and leaving Ffynnon in Roger’s capable hands. Lots of people have kindly donated money for my trip and asked to be kept up to date on how things are going. So please excuse me hijacking the FFynnon blog space to do just that.

Why Am I going?

Why am I going ? A question I get asked often, and the one I ask myself all the time!

https://www.onecollective.org/community/chibolya-zambia

Of course, it’s not about me. That’s the easy answer. It’s about them. Those that need our help, those that live in poverty and whose only hope is the kindness and compassion of others. More of that later, but in the meantime I will answer from my own perspective.

Well, actually I’ve always fancied doing something like this but there had never been the right time somehow. I’ve been involved in mission, but always on the “home” side. Several things resonated with me about this particular trip……

It’s Africa.

……….I have African friends and have always enjoyed their hospitality, stories and their cultural quirks! I just love these friends and, having helped one particular family, in my own small way, to integrate into UK society, I’m looking forward with interest as the tables are turned. I can just see Mami’s face now as I anticipate the blunders I might make!

…….My husband lived in Africa as a child and my in-laws always talk of their lives there. They were located in a place called Hippo Valley, Zimbabwe (when it was known as Rhodesia). I’ve seen photos, and heard stories of Hippos in the garden, Scorpions in the swimming pool, my hubby’s airplane ride to hospital to have his appendix out when he was just 4 years old! My father in law worked for Tate and Lyle and they opened a sugar refinery in Rhodesia. Sadly, they were advised to come home when the troubles broke out, but Africa has always been on their hearts, and this does become infectious, even to an in-law!

…….Chris and Renee were out there already, and the opportunity to travel with friends to see friends seemed too good an opportunity to miss.

However, I still struggled with the decision to go.

What if I was being ridiculous. People of my age just don’t do this sort of thing.

Where was the money going to come from? We moved to Abertysswg in faith to build a ministry. We don’t have much of an income. Surely, I was being selfish with our family finances?

What if I let the whole team down by being unable to cope?

So I Prayed, and I told the team leader, Anthony, that I would sleep on it and give him a final decision in the morning.

And Guess What ?

I went to bed and dreamt that I was there, in a classroom, teaching music.

Now, I don’t know whether I will teach music or not, but I got out of bed the next morning feeling really excited about going.

I also received a message from Anthony saying that he had put some airline tickets on hold for me and that I should ring up the travel agents and pay for them if I wanted to go.

I did, and I did!

More later………..

https://www.gofundme.com/f/pces8q-trip-to-zambia

Leave a comment